CURRENT EXHIBITION

KAT_A_6, 2020

Isa Genzken und Wolfgang Tillmans

The sixth KAT_A exhibition is dedicated to two internationally renowned German artists from two generations: Isa Genzken (born 1948) and Wolfgang Tillmans (born 1968). They know each other well, worked together and portrayed each other in their own works. Accordingly, the exhibition will show the works "Isa Mona Lisa" and "Isa vor Sound Factory" by Tillmans, which portray Isa Genzken, while a portrait of Tillmans is integrated into the important sculpture "Untitled (Slot Machine)" by Isa Genzken. This reference to each other and the appreciation of the two artists for each other forms a focal point in the exhibition and also illustrates the different aesthetic attitudes. At the same time, the artistic similarities become visible as both artists work conceptually and systematically.

Isa Genzken explores artistic, psychological and socio-political issues, whereby her approach to sculpture is both analytical and unconventional. On the one hand, her formal language can be understood from a constructive sculptural tradition, and on the other hand it contains clear references to the social and societal environment. Using often the most simple materials, her works appear shrill and loud and fundamentally question (classical) sculpture. Her installations and sculptures draw attention to contrasts and brutalities in society - provocatively and always with the aim of venturing out into unsecured terrain and disturbing and destroying normative viewing habits.

Conversely, photography as a medium of social reality increasingly recedes into the background in Tillmans' work. While his early, almost iconic works were meetings and gatherings in clubs, at parties, and portraits of individuals, the tension between control and coincidence, intention and the liberating imponderables of the photographic medium later moved increasingly into focus. Groups of subjects such as "drapery", "still life", "free swimmer", "paper drops" or "silver" refer to the autonomy of photographic representation. These groups of works displayed in the exhibition provide an overview of his oeuvre and at the same time reflect the competing thematic focuses within it: the interaction of people in all its aspects and the exploration of the chemical basis of photography.

Isa Genzken, Nofretete, 2018, plasterbuston,
wooden base, sunglasses MDF plinth, 190 x 35 x 36 cm

Plan your Visit

Tour the exhibition

The collector and curator Andra Lauffs-Wegner personally guides you through the exhibition. Please arrange your visit at least one day in advance.

Opening Hours

Wednesday, Friday and Sunday 11:00 am to 5:00 pm by arrangement

Adults: 10 €
Groups up to 5 persons: 7 €
Students: free

Exhibition duration

bis Mai 2021

Aktuelle Ausstelung

KAT_A_6, 2020

Isa Genzken und Wolfgang Tillmans

Die sechste KAT_A-Ausstellung widmet sich zwei international vielfach ausgezeichneten deutschen Künstlern aus zwei Generationen: Isa Genzken (geboren 1948) und Wolfgang Tillmans (geboren 1968). Sie kennen einander gut, haben zusammengearbeitet und den jeweils anderen in eigenen Arbeiten dargestellt. So werden die Arbeiten „Isa Mona Lisa“ und „Isa vor Sound Factory“ von Tillmans gezeigt, die Isa Genzken portraitieren, während in der bedeutenden Skulptur „Untitled (Slot Machine)“ von Isa Genzken ein Portrait Tillmans’ integriert ist. Diese Bezugnahme auf den jeweils anderen und die Wertschätzung der beiden Künstler füreinander bildet in der Ausstellung einen Schwerpunkt und verdeutlicht auch die unterschiedlichen ästhetischen Haltungen. Zugleich werden die künstlerischen Gemeinsamkeiten sichtbar, denn beide Künstler arbeiten konzeptuell und systematisch.

Isa Genzken setzt sich mit künstlerischen, psychologischen und sozialpolitischen Themen auseinander, wobei ihr Umgang mit der Bildhauerei gleichsam analytisch wie unkonventionell ist. So ist ihre Formensprache einerseits aus einer konstruktiven bildhauerischen Tradition verständlich und enthält andererseits deutliche Referenzen auf die soziale und gesellschaftliche Umwelt. Unter Verwendung oftmals einfachster Materialien wirken ihre Arbeiten schrill und laut und stellen die (klassische) Bildhauerei grundsätzlich infrage. Ihre Installationen und Skulpturen machen dabei auf Gegensätze und Brutalitäten in der Gesellschaft aufmerksam – provokativ und immer mit dem Ziel, sich auf ungesichertes Terrain hinaus zu wagen und normative Sehgewohnheiten zu (zer)stören.

Umgekehrt tritt bei Tillmans die Fotografie als Medium der gesellschaftlichen Realität zunehmend in den Hintergrund. Waren es in seinen frühen, geradezu ikonischen Arbeiten Versammlungen und Treffen in Clubs, auf Partys sowie Portraits einzelner Personen, rückte später verstärkt die Spannung zwischen Kontrolle und Zufall, Intention und befreienden Unwägbarkeiten des fotografischen Mediums in den Fokus. Motivgruppen wie „Faltenwurf“, „Stilleben“, „Freischwimmer“, „paper drops“ oder „Silver“ verweisen auf die Autonomie fotografischer Darstellung. Diese in der Ausstellung gehängten Werkgruppen geben einen Überblick über sein Schaffen und spiegeln zugleich die darin konkurrierenden Themenschwerpunkte wider: die Interaktionen von Menschen in all ihren Facetten und die Erforschung der chemischen Grundlage der Fotografie.

Isa Genzken, Nofretete, 2018, plasterbuston,
wooden base, sunglasses MDF plinth, 190 x 35 x 36 cm

Besuch planen

Führung durch die Ausstellung

Durch die Ausstellung führt die Sammlerin und Kuratorin Andra Lauffs-Wegner persönlich. Bitte melden Sie Ihren Besuch min­destens einen Tag vorher an.

Öffnungszeiten

Mittwoch, Freitag und Sonntag 11.00 bis 17.00 Uhr nach Vereinbarung.

Erwachsene: 10 €
Gruppen ab 5 Personen: 7 €
Schüler und Studenten: frei

Ausstellungsdauer

bis Mai 2021